Malpractice Overview
Birth Injuries
Cerebral Palsy
Brain Injuries
Fetal Death
Failure to Diagnose Cancer
Personal Injury
Medical Malpractice
Birth Injuries
Wrongful Death

Bartlett Law Offices, P.C.

SW Blatchley House, Circa 1840
1308 Durham Road
Madison, CT 06443

Mailing address:
PO Box 4017
Madison, CT 06443

Ph: 203-421-4400
Fax: 203-421-1930
Email Us

The legal team at the Bartlett Law
Offices, P.C. confidently
represents clients located across
the state of Connecticut, including
the communities of New Haven,
Hartford, Bridgeport, Stamford,
and all of the surrounding areas.


Each year, more than 40,000 Americans are killed and thousands more seriously injured at the hands of negligent drivers. Since 1981, Attorney Bartlett has exclusively represented the injured and litigating cases and claims against insurance companies of behalf of his clients. He has never represented insurance companies in any capacity.

When you are in an automobile accident, insurance adjusters are now, more than ever, likely to call you, write you and even show up at your door. There is nothing wrong or illegal with an insurance company doing their own investigation. Connecticut is unique in that it actually has a 50 year old law which prohibits the signing of a release for personal injuries within 15 days of the “tortuous act” (eg, the date of the motor vehicle accident.) Specifically, this statute is Conn. Gen. Stat. 52-572a. Note that this law applies only to releases for personal injury so an adjuster is perfectly within his/her rights to offer you a settlement for the property damage portion of your case.

This law was originally enacted in 1959 and was enacted solely for the protection of the injured person. This is so, particularly with head, lumbar or cervical injuries that even with relatively minor pain and discomfort, the long term implications can not often be fully appreciated without a diagnostic CAT or MRI scan. The signing of a general release by definition forecloses any future claims; should the cervical or lumbar discomfort turn out to have a ‘disc’ component to the injury, this would turn out to benefit no one except the insurance adjuster and leave this individual without a legal remedy.

Approximately 5 years ago, Bartlett Law Offices, PC was one of three law firms that filed a class action suit seeking to prevent the above abuses from happening. Suits were brought against progressive Insurance Company and the Nationwide Insurance Company.  For more information, please see the “recent cases” section of the website.

In summary, Attorney Bartlett will be there to answer the questions you have; what is med pay, if both vehicle have med pay, which vehicle is “primary?”, in addition to am I required to give the adjuster a recorded statement? Please bear in mind that all 50 states, including Connecticut, have strict time periods limiting the time period when legal claims (or in some cases “legal notices”) may be timely brought. It is true that as general rule, personal injury claims occurring in Connecticut have a 2 (two) year statue of limitations period. However, the number of exceptions to this general rule make it mandatory to consult with a Connecticut-licensed attorney as soon as convenience will allow after the accident.  For example. Conn. Gen. Stat. 30-102 (known as a dram shop claim)  requires legal notice to be given within 30 days of the incident in cases where the defendant driver is believed to have consumed alcohol and a claim is to be made against the bar, restaurant or procurer of the alcohol. Without proper legal notice being given, any statutory claim made under CGS 30-102 is very likely dismissible. Therefore, the wiser, more prudent course would be consult with an experienced Connecticut attorney, as soon as convenience will allow.

© 2009 by Bartlett Law Offices, P.C. All rights reserved. Disclaimer